Executive Committee

 

OFFICERS

Will Silvio – President
Professor, Harmony
wsilvio@berklee.edu x8206


David Thorne Scott – Executive Vice President
Professor, Voice
dscott@berklee.edu x2822

David Thorne Scott received a B.A., Magna Cum Laude in English and music from Drew University, an A.A.A. in Professional Music from the School for Music Vocations, and a M.M. in Jazz Vocal Performance from the University of Miami. His debut jazz album, Shade, was chosen as a Top 5 Vocal Jazz CD of 2004 by the Jazz Education Journal. He has performed with Richie Cole, Gloria Estefan, Hal Galper, Phil Mattson Darmon Meader, and Jon Secada, is a founding member of jazz vocal group Vocalogy, and was a member of the jazz vocal group Syncopation. He was a finalist in the professional division of the 2003 Boston Area Song and Aria Festival sponsored by the National Association of Teachers of Singing. His singing Arrangements have been published by Hal Leonard and UNC Jazz Press, and he is a member of the Philovox Choir, which records the music of the E.C. Schirmer Publishing Company.

Andrew Shryock – Secretary/Treasurer
Associate Professor, Core Music
ashryock@berklee.edu


Prince Charles Alexander – Grievance Officer
Professor, Music Production and Engineering
pcalexander@berklee.edu x3168

Prince Charles Alexander is an independent record producer & engineer. He received his M.S., Northeastern University and his B.A., Brandeis University. His client list includes Mary J. Blige, Destiny’s Child, P. Diddy, Alicia Keys, the Notorious B.I.G., and Luther Vandross. The recipient of three Grammy Awards and seven Grammy nominations, and the winner of a Victoire de la Musique (French Grammy equivalent), he has more than 40 platinum and gold certifications from the RIAA. He is a member of the NARAS Grammy Committee Board of Governors, the Recording Academy Producers and Engineers Wing, the Audio Engineering Society, and the American Federation of Musicians Local 802. A former Virgin Records recording artist, his instruments include wind synthesizers, flute, saxophone, and keyboards

Elizabeth Seitz – Vice President, Full-Time Faculty
Professor, Core Music
eseitz@berklee.edu

Elizabeth Seitz joined the Conservatory in 2005 and serves as a professor of core studies in music history.

Seitz received her Ph.D. from Boston University, completing a dissertation discussing the early works of Manuel de Falla and his relationship to the Impressionist movement in France. She has given papers on a variety of topics, including Schubert, MTV, and Tito Puente. She has taught at New England Conservatory, Washington University, Tufts University, Brown University, and Boston University. In addition to teaching, Seitz participates in a wide range of community outreach programs and is a frequent lecturer at the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the San Francisco Symphony, the New York Philharmonic, Rockport Chamber Series, Tanglewood, and elsewhere. She has written a musicological murder mystery titled Dissertation Most Deadly.

Wendy Rolfe – Vice President, Part-Time Faculty
Professor, Woodwind
wrolfe@berklee.edu x8337

Wendy Rolfe has been teaching flute, and ensembles at Berklee since 1987, and has also taught in the Liberal Arts and Harmony Departments. She has served on the BAFT Executive Committee since 1999. In addition to being one of the United States' leading performers on historical flutes, she has been a leader in commissioning and performing new works for the flute. Dr. Rolfe also performs, records and tours with the Handel and Haydn Society, Boston Baroque (two Grammy nominations) and New York's Concert Royal. In addition, she performs with Toronto's Tafelmusik (2006 Canada's Juno Award), the New York Collegium, the Cape Cod Symphony, Boston Cecilia, and the American Classical Orchestra. Recordings include CDs for Decca, Analekta, and Telarc, and for films for Disney/Touchstone and PBS (Ken Burns). In 2005, she released "Images of Brazil", a CD recorded in Sao Paulo with a Berklee Faculty Fellowship. She has toured the USA with a Solo Recitalist Grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, and is on the Fulbright Senior Specialist Roster. Dr. Rolfe frequently tours Brazil, giving solo recitals and master classes, has been guest artist at the International Summer Festival in Brasilia, Brazil, and at the International Flute Festivals in Quito, Ecuador, and Lima, Peru. Dr. Rolfe holds the DMA and MM from the Manhattan School of Music, and the BM from the Oberlin Conservatory of Music. She has served on the Boards of Directors of the National Flute Association (also past Chair and current member of the Cultural Outreach, and now a member of the Historical Flutes and Jazz Big Band Competition Committees), the Greater Boston Flute Association, and the Pappoutsakis Competition, and is a Member of the Corporation of the Boston Early Music Festival.

 

DIVISION REPRESENTATIVES

Peggy Codding – Professional Education
Professor of Music, Music Therapy
pcodding@berklee.edu x8678

Dr. Peggy Codding  was a member of the Graduate Faculty and Chair of Graduate/Undergraduate Studies in Music Therapy at Ohio University in Athens for 14 years and a faculty member at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire for 3 years prior to joining the Berklee faculty in 1999. She is a Board Certified Music Therapist and has been Certified in Music Education, - K-12, and Special Education, - Visually Impaired. She completed her Ph.D and M.M. at Florida State University in Tallahassee, a B.M.E at Phillips University in Enid, Oklahoma, and a clinical internship at Northwest Texas Psychiatric Pavilion and Kilgore Children's Psychiatric Center in Amarillo, Texas. Peggy has lectured internationally in China and Japan and has been a member of the International Symposium for Research in Music Behavior since 1988. She is published in refereed journals, books and monographs in music therapy and related fields and has frequently presented regarding music therapy in correctional psychiatry, children with special needs, and music and childbirth. Peggy has served as clinical Consultant to correctional and criminal justice programs and educational and medical settings. She has been a guest of the Kyoto International Center for Music Therapy and the Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing, China. She serves on the Board of Directors of the Boston Minstrel Company, a volunteer music service organization providing music to area shelters and correctional facilities. Peggy teaches courses in music therapy to include research, assessment, and exceptional children.

Dennis Cecere - Performance
Professor, Ensemble
dcecere@berklee.edu x8139

Dennis Cecere, an independent producer in the pop and rock recording market, is an alumnus of the Berklee College of Music. He's played piano in concerts  with the Silver Bullet Swing Orchestra, and performed with the Boston Big Band, Full House, Big Dig, Hip Pocket Orchestra, and Timelight. He's played back-up for the Shangra-Las, the Platters, the Drifters, the Coasters, the Marvelettes, Johnny Preston, and Lou Christie. The musical director, sound engineer, and arranger for Big Dig , he's also been a performer and arranger for numerous record labels. He's also composed radio jingles for local and national clients, including Chevrolet and Toyota.

Michael Abraham - Professional Writing and Technology
Associate Professor, Music Production and Engineering
mabraham@berklee.edu x8584

Michael Abraham received his B.S. at the Wentworth Institute of Technology, and is an alumnus of the Berklee College of Music. A former engineer and member of the technical staff at the Bose Corporation, he is currently the vice president of engineering for KOI Audio.  He produced, recorded, and performed music for Bose/Mercedes Benz Recordings, and is a professional performing saxophonist.

Marti Epstein – Music, Boston Conservatory at Berklee
Professor, Composition
mepstein@berklee.edu x8167

Dr. Marti Epstein's music has been performed all over the world by ensembles such as the San Francisco Symphony and Ensemble Modern. She has been an Executive Committee member since 1996 when she won a Massachusetts Federation of Teachers Excellence Award for her role in the 1996 contract negotiations. She has previously served as the Vice President for Part Time Faculty and the Grievance Officer.

Paul Masters – Theater, Boston Conservatory at Berklee
Assistant Professor, Theater
pmasters@berklee.edu

Paul Masters joined the Boston Conservatory at Berklee in 2017, and is an Assistant Professor of Theatre. Specializing in immersive and participatory theatre and media, Paul teaches courses such as Theatre History, Dramatic Text and Theory, and Immersive and Experiential Theatre. He has also advised MFA performance projects and teaches graduate courses.

Receiving his PhD and an MA in Theatre from Tufts University in 2016, Paul continues to pursue research into site-specific, immersive, and environmental theatrical production, with a special interest in the use of immersive aesthetics to advance social justice and equity.

Denise Pons-Leone – Dance, Boston Conservatory at Berklee
Professor, Dance
dpons@berklee.edu

Ms. Pons began her dance training in New Orleans, LA with Joseph Giacobbe and the Delta Festival Ballet. She has been coached by Michael Smuin, Mark Morris, Bruce Marks, Natalia Dudinskaya, Edward Villella, Dinna Bjorn, Georges Garcia, Bojan Spassoff, Bruce Wells, and Anna-Marie Holmes. She received the Nordan Fine Arts Scholarship and attended Texas Christian University. She has performed with New Orleans Delta Festival Ballet, Fort Worth Ballet (now Texas Ballet Theater), San Francisco BalletEglevsky Ballet, Ballet Oklahoma, and Boston Ballet 1981-1995, promoted to soloist in 1985).

In 1990, Ms. Pons was selected by Mark Morris and Mikhail Baryshnikov as one of the eight founding members of the White Oak Dance Project. Through her professional career she has performed the roles Black Swan Pas de Deux, Firebird and leads in Les SylphidesThe Sleeping Beauty and Don Quixote. Ms. Pons has taught extensively throughout the United States and France. Her background also includes extensive training in tap, jazz, flamenco, and modern dance, and she is a certified teacher and mentor for Zena Rommett Floore Barre Technique®.

 

COUNCILORS

Stephanie Reich
Professor, Liberal Arts
sreich1@berklee.edu x6031

In Baltimore, Stephanie Reich Policy was assistant to the mayor and city council president, and the founder of the D.B.C.C., and Employer Child Care Sponsorship Consortium.  After moving to the Boston area, she has served as a consultant at Harvard's Kennedy School, Harvard University and as a policy advisor to Deval Patrick gubernatorial campaign. In addition to her work at Berklee, she has been on the faculty of Tufts University and Lesley University. Her Berklee courses include College Writing I, College Writing II, and Urban Sociology, and she is the faculty editor and student editor advisor, FUSION magazine. She is also a TRIAD member.

Peter Cokkinias
Professor, Music Education
pcokkinias@berklee.edu x8146

Peter Cokkinias received his B.M. and B.M.Ed. from the Hartt School of Music, his M.M. from the Manhattan School of Music, and his D.M.A. from the University of Cincinnati. He has performed with the Boston Ballet, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Boston Pops, and Boston Lyric Opera, and was the music director and conductor of the Metrowest Symphony Orchestra for 29 years. He has been a Woodwind doubler for Broadway shows at the Colonial Theater, Wang Center, and North Shore Music Theater, and previously taught at Tufts University, as well as grades K-8 in the Melrose Public School System.

Alicia Bower
Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
abower@berklee.edu x6517

Dr. Alicia Bower received her PhD in Psychology in 2015, and is now an assistant professor of Psychology at Berklee in Boston, Massachusetts. Her research utilizes mixed methodology to uncover the various ways in which positive social relationships can encourage positive socioemotional development throughout the lifespan. More recently, Alicia’s work has focused on creating engaging learning environments through the use of play, games, and contemplative strategies in classroom on college campus. Alicia is excited to continue to her work incorporating technology to explore the human experience, and to develop materials that challenge and engage individuals in their personal growth.

Alicia has been a proud supporter of unions since attending her first union rally with her parents when she was 7 years old. She is a member of a number of campus groups that support positive change in the college and community. Alicia has a research background, which helps her to understand the importance of validating claims, and thoroughly investigating complex organizations to 1) see how "the machine works", 2) pin-point "which parts of the machine are malfunctioning" so that they can be fixed, and 3) identify "which parts of the machine are working" so that resources are devoted to encouraging adaptive functioning! She is excited to bring her fresh perspective, her attention to detail, her research background, and her passion, to the Berklee Faculty Union Executive Committee!

Utar Artun
Assistant Professor, Ensembles
uartun@berklee.edu x6531

Utar Artun was born in Ankara, Turkey. He was a JRR artist of Berklee and Artun was a part of ‘Birds of Feather’, ‘Octave’ and ‘Ripple Effect’ albums. In 2011, he performed with Kevin Eubanks in the studio recording session of WGBH Studios - Boston, MA. In the US, He’s been in workshops, clinics, concert performances and album recordings with world renowned artists such as Bobby McFerrin, Dave Weckl, Jojo Mayer, Arto Tuncboyaciyan, Dave Liebman, Antonio Sanchez, Mark Guiliana, Rudresh Mahanthappa, Simon Shaheen, Dave Holland, Larry Finn, Eddie Gomez, Jason Moran, Fred Hersch, Kati Agocs, Hankus Netsky, Ken Schaphorst, Mehmet Ali Sanlikol, Erkan Ogur, Anat Cohen, Yazhi Guo, Luis Conte, Kenwood Dennard, Jason Linder, Ledisi, Omar Hakim, Chuck Rainey, Jack DeJonnethe and David Fiuczynski. He involved into the Rhythm of the Universe and Berklee Yo-Team Projects as an Arranger, Performer, Conductor and Orchestrator, and Planet MicroJam Institute at Berklee College of Music. In 2013, Artun won the Highest Award of SCAMV 1st National Symphonic Composition Contest. In Turkey, he is one the highly awarded scholars of Foundation of Modern Education (CEV) and Ankara Jazz Society (ACD). In 2016, won the 3rd place award of 9th Eczacibasi National Composition Contest with his symphonic lied "Hiclik". Artun has done numerous international studio recordings, albums, festivals, concerts and performances such as Undead Jazz Festival, Burlington Jazz Festival, Europalia Arts festival in Belgium, Musicacoustica Festival in China, Abu Dhabi Festival, Boston Jazz Fest, Barcelona Guitar Festival, Vilnius Jazz Festival in Lithuania, Huayi Arts Festival in Singapore and Detroit Jazz Festival. Artun had performances, touring and clinics in Switzerland (HKB-Bern & AMR Geneva), France (Paris, Sunset and Nancy, Music Academy International), Austria (Innsbruck - Treibhaus), Germany (Berlin-Aufsturz), Netherlands (Amsterdam- Panama), China (Beijing Central Conservatory) and Italy (Gezmataz Jazz Festival, Genova). Also, he had plenty of interviews, TV broadcasts and newspaper-press cuttings in USA, Europe and Turkey. In 2015, he won the Boston Microtonal Society Award and released his solo music video “Cajonversations”. In 2017, he composed the first Piano & Cajon Concertant in the world and he premiered it at Zorlu PSM in Istanbul with Istanbul Symphony Orchestra. He was the Honorary Chairman/Judge of Global Outstanding Chinese Artists Association - 6th and 7th International Piano Competition. In 2018, he won ‘JCI - TOYP “10 Outstanding Young Persons of the World” Culture Award - in Istanbul, Turkey. He has also composed and arranged over 120 pieces for symphony orchestra, as well as more than 160 pieces for brass bands and big bands. Featured on various studio albums as a piano player, arranger, and drummer. His compositions and arrangements are performed in USA, Switzerland, Turkey, Holland, China, Canada, Taiwan, Singapore, Czech Republic and Russia. Furthermore, He is a voting member at (NARAS) The Recording Academy for Grammy Awards. In addition to that, Utar Artun is a member of SCI, NACUSA, Cagdas Turk Bestecileri and BMI. Currently, Artun is a faculty member at Berklee College of Music.

Michael Johnson
Associate Professor, Contemporary Writing & Production
mjjohnson@berklee.edu x6050

Nicholas Urie
Associate Professor, Harmony and Jazz Comp
nurie@berklee.edu 

DEPARTMENT REPS

 

Bass

Danny Morris
dmorris@berklee.edu x8291

Brass

Charlie Lewis
clewis@berklee.edu x8475

Composition

Dennis Leclaire
dleclaire@berklee.edu x8254

CWP

Jeff Perry
jperry@berklee.edu x8689

Ear Training

Robin Ginenthal
rginenthal@berklee.edu x8191

Rich Greenblatt
rgreenblatt@berklee.edu x8235

Ensemble

Herman Hampton
hhampton@berklee.edu x8237

Rebecca Cline
rcline@berklee.edu x2993

Film Scoring

TBD

Liberal Arts

D.J. Hatfield
dhatfield@berklee.edu x6017

Beth Platow  
bplatow@gmail.com x3113

Mark Polanzak
polanzak@gmail.com  

Guitar

Curt Shumate
cshumate@berklee.edu x8352

Lauren Passarelli
lpasserelli@berklee.edu x8307

Dave Tronzo
dtronzo@berklee.edu x2858

Harmony

Craig Macrae
cmacrae@berklee.edu x8459

Winnie Dahlgren
wdahlgren@berklee.edu x2829

Jazz Composition

Scott Free
sfree@berklee.edu x8179

Music Business

Andrea Johnson
arjohnson@berklee.edu x3170

Music Education

Wayne Ward
wward@berklee.edu x8392

MP&E

Mitch Benoff
mbenoff@berklee.edu x2397

Music Synthesis

Chris Noyes
cnoyes@berklee.edu x2298

Music Therapy

Kimberly Khare
kkhare@berklee.edu x8609

Percussion

Jon Hazilla
jhazilla@berklee.edu x8213

Jackie Santos
jsantos@berklee.edu x8487

Mark Walker
mwalker@berklee.edu x2717

Piano

John Arcaro
jarcaro@berklee.edu x8104

Bob Christopherson
rchristopherson@berklee.edu x8486

Professional Music

Jes Perry
jsarinperry@berklee.edu x6281

Songwriting

Jimmy Kachulis
jkachulis@berklee.edu x8240

Mark Simos
msimos@berklee.edu x3129

String

Mimi Rabson
mrabson@berklee.edu x8323

Voice

Gwen Leathers
gleathers@berklee.edu x8107

Karen Carr
kcarr@berklee.edu x2733

Woodwind

TBD