Minutes from Union Executive Committee Meeting

Present – Michael Abraham, Prince Charles Alexander, Peggy Codding, Peter Cokkinias, Beth Denisch, Marti Epstein, Rich Grudzinski, Jonathan Holland, Teodros Kiros, Jeff Perry, Wendy Rolfe, Jackson Schultz, and Jeri Sykes.

  1. Peter made a motion to accept the minutes as amended from the previous meetings. Marti seconded and the vote was unanimous to accept the minutes.
  2. We discussed the impact that student evaluations have on faculty. The process of student evaluations and chair reviews need to be looked at. What about a peer review as a part of the process? We discussed other faculty / chair situations that are currently ongoing.
  3. Grad bargaining meeting – April 24 at 3 pm is the next session. On-line component, orientation on-campus, there are a lot of unanswered questions.
  4. We discussed the MOU study group reports. Most are done but all will be done by the end of this semester. EthicsPoint Hotline was discussed at length.
  5. Nominating committee has been established: Haidee Lorree, Rebecca Cline, Dennis LeClaire, Scott Fessler, and Scott Free. Jackson spoke with AAA today. NLRB has not approved on-line voting so we will be having the standard paper ballets. The election will be April 28-30.
  6. ACI update – sending a letter out after spring break to set up meeting to discuss the course and recent changes to the curriculum.
  7. Beth, Danny, and Wendy are going to the AFT conference in Orlando.
  8. We discussed the sick leave policy and the new law.
  9. The website and our FaceBook page will be discussed upon our return from break.